24 janeiro 2011

Cat Anderson - Ellingtonia (1959)



01. Between Some Place, Goin' No Place
02. A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing
03. The Mexican Bandit
04. Lovelinessence
05. Accen'tuate
06. Chelsea Bridge
07. Summertime
08. Like, Dig

Cat Anderson - t
Butter Jackson- tb
Sam Woodyard- d
Ray Nance- vln
Jimmy Woode- b
Leroy Lovett- p
Bud Johnson- ts, fl (only tracks 1, 5, 7 and 8)
Rudy Powell- as, cl (only tracks 2, 3, 4 and 6)

Trumpeter Cat Anderson had one of his infrequent vacations from Duke Ellington's Orchestra to record this rare and decent small-group swing date. The septet has five of Duke's men (including trombonist Quentin Jackson, violinist Ray Nance, bassist Jimmy Woode and drummer Sam Woodyard) joined by pianist Leroy Lovett and either Rudy Powell or Budd Johnson on reeds. Some original jump tunes alternate with Ellington/Strayhorn ballads ("A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing" and "Chelsea Bridge") and, although nothing too unpredictable occurs, the music should please swing and Ellington collectors.


1 comentário: