05 junho 2011

Frank Gordon - Clarion Echoes - 1985

Frank Gordon - Clarion Echoes (1985)
flac (tracks) +scans, no log, no cue | 39 min 01 sec | 240.7 mb
Label: Soul Note | December 31, 1985

1. Take Off (F. Gordon) (7:10)
2. I Remember Clifford (B. Golson) (5:51)
3. Libra (F. Gordon) (5:07)
4. Illusion (F. Gordon) (1:32)
5. Convulsion (F. Gordon) (6:33)
6. Clarion Echoes (F. Gordon) (6:29)
7. El Toro (F. Gordon) (6:08)

Frank Gordon (trumpet)
Ari Brown (tenor saxophone, flute)
Bobby Watson (alto saxophone, flute)
James Williams (piano)
Rufus Reid (bass)
Carl Allen (drums)

Recorded at Classic Sound Studios, New York City, 5. & 10. 6. 1985.

Soul Note (Italy) 121096; Soul Note (It) SN1096; Soul Note (It) SN1096-2; DIW (Jap) DIW1212

The first album as a leader from trumpeter Frank Gordon – one of the lesser-remembered members of the AACM in the 70s, and an artist who's probably best known for his work in the soulful combo The Awakening! This set has Gordon blowing in some richly creative territory, especially for the 80s – a soulful, stretched-out sort of groove that's mostly built around original compositions by Frank – well-written numbers with a strong undercurrent of darkness, even at moments of brighter light from some of the soloists – There's a rock-solid rhythm section on the date which offsets some of the more exploratory horn passages nicely –

5 comentários:

  1. http://rapidshare.com/files/409798482/fg-ce.part1.rar.html

  2. Thanks a lot Alberto for this share, eager to hear it as I really appreciate Brown and Watson ! and Gordon is new to me...thanks again !

  3. alberto, sorry to report to you that links 2 and 3 and scans are dead ! Again the tricky RS which left only one link and kill the others !

  4. Thanks Bhowani
    RS is working... I have found 2 other links
    Unknown Rip



  5. Thank you for your efforts alberto ! RS works fine now, I'm listening to it !