11 outubro 2011

Lester Bowie's Brass Fantasy - I only have eyes for you 1985

MP3@320 - 122 MB | Total time: 53:09

The debut by Lester Bowie’s Brass Fantasy (an octet consisting of four trumpets, both Craig Harris and Steve Turre on trombones, the French horn of Vincent Chancey, Bob Stewart on tuba and drummer Phillip Wilson) is one of their best recordings. Rather than playing their interpretations of pop tunes (which would be the direction Brass Fantasy would head in the future), this album finds the musicians performing originals by Bowie (including "When the Spirit Returns", Stewart, trumpeters Bruce Purse and Malachi Thompson and the standard title cut. The music is both whimsical and explorative, making for a colorful set.

Lester Bowie (Trumpet) Stanton Davis (Trumpet and Flugelhorn) Malachi Thompson (Trumpet) Bruce Purse (Trumpet) Craig Harris (Trombone) Steve Turre (Trombone) Vincent Chancey (French Horn) Bob Stewart (Tuba) Phillip Wilson (Drums)


1. I Only Have Eyes For You (Al Dubin/Harry Warren) 10:27
2. Think (Bruce Purse) 1:31
3. Lament (Malachi Thompson) 13:47
4. Coming Back, Jamaica (Lester Bowie) 5:14
5. Nonet (Bob Stewart) 14:26
6. When The Spirit Returns (Lester Bowie) 7:44


1 comentário: