21 outubro 2011

Buck Clayton & Buddy Tate

Buck Clayton
Buck and Buddy

1. High Life (Clayton) 5:25
2. When a Woman Loves a Man (Hanighen, Jenkins, Mercer) 5:34
3. Thou Swell (Hart, Rodgers) 5:14
4. Can't We Be Friends ? (James, Swift) 4:03
5. Birdland Betty (Clayton) 8:01
6. Kansas City Nights (Clayton) 5:42

Buck Clayton - tp - Buddy Tate - ts - Sir Charles Thompson - p - Gene Ramey - b - Mousey Alexander - dr

Recorded in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey ; December 20, 1960

PW : melanchthon

Count Basie veterans Buck Clayton and tenorman Buddy Tate teamed up during 1960-61 for a pair of Swingville recordings. This CD reissues the first one, a quintet outing with pianist Sir Charles Thompson, bassist Gene Ramey and drummer Mousie Alexander. The repertoire is split between three standards (including "When a Woman Loves a Man") and three Clayton originals. The melodic music consistently swings and practically defines "mainstream" jazz. Worth picking up.
Scott Yanow - allmusic.com

2 comentários: