08 agosto 2011

Joe Gordon & Scott Lafaro : West Coast Days 1958/60

Joe Gordon & Scott Lafaro : West Coast Days. Live At The Lighthouse 1958/60
Label: Fresh Sound

Recorded Live At The Lighthouse, Hermosa Beach, California, September 1958 and July 31, 1960.

Tracks #1-3:
Joe Gordon (tp), Richie Kamuca (ts), Russ Freeman (p),
Monty Budwig (b), Shelly Manne (d). Recorded at the Lighthouse, July 31, 1960.

Tracks #4-6:
Richie Kamuca (ts), Victor Feldman (p), Scott Lafaro (b), Stan Levey (d).
Recorded at the Lighthouse, September 1958.

01 - Our Delight (Dameron) (5:50) 

02 - Summertime / Shelly Manne Introduces Joe Gordon (Gershwin-Heyward) (11:58) 

03 - Poinciana (Simon-Lliso-Bemier) (11:44) 

04 - It Could Happen to You (Burke-Van Heusen) (11:13) 

05 - Bass Blues / Commentary By Richie Kamuca (Coltrane) (15:18)


Previously unreleased material from two of the most highly regarded jazz musicians of their generation, who helped the development of their respective instruments. Trumpeter Joe Gordon and bassist Scott LaFaro both died young at the peak of their creativity. Two sessions from 1958 and 1960, live at the Lighthouse.

Thanks to lafaro

2 comentários:

  1. http://www.mediafire.com/?8kmuha60acyf4e7

  2. WOW! I thought I had seen all the west coast music from the Lighthouse, BUT not this one. Thanks a million for this rare album.
    Best Regards,