29 maio 2011

Bunk Johnson Superior Jazz Band From Storyville, New Orleans 1942

Bunk Johnson Superior Jazz Band From Storyville, New Orleans 1942
Label - OJS/ZYX 2006
New Orleans Traditional Jazz
mp3 @ 320 | 77,7 mb | Cover

01. Storyville Blues Bunk Johnson (3:12)
02. Bunk's Blues Bunk Johnson (2:46)
03. Down by the Riverside Traditional (3:00)
04. Moose March Bunk Johnson (3:25)
05. Ballin' the Jack James Henry Burris, Chris Smith (3:07)
06. Panama William Tyers (2:58)
07. Weary Blues Artie Matthews (2:45)
08. Make Me a Pallet on the Floor Traditional (3:25)
09. Yes, Lord I'm Crippled Traditional (2:51)
10. Bunk Johnson Talking Records Bunk Johnson (9:26)
Total time - 36:35

Rec. June 11, 1942

George Lewis (Clarinet), Bunk Johnson (Trumpet), Jim Robinson (Trombone), Laurence Marrero (Banjo), Austin Young (Bass), Ernest Rogers (Drums), Walter Decou (Piano)

Password : press

This CD reissues the first recordings by the legendary Bunk Johnson. Cut in New Orleans on primitive acetates, the trumpeter is teamed with trombonist Jim Robinson and clarinetist George Lewis (both of whom would be in his regular band soon), plus a four-piece rhythm section, for nine numbers. Bunk's playing is primitive, as is Lewis's, but also listenable despite the erratic recording quality. Closing this set are nine minutes of "talking records" that feature Johnson reminiscing about the past. In reality, this release is more important historically than musically; get Bunk's final recordings (on Delmark) first. ~ Scott Yanow, All Music Guide

Thanks to the original uploader The Journeyman

1 comentário: