03 fevereiro 2011

Leroy Jones - Props For Pops (1996)



01. Props for Pops 4:16
02. Struttin' With Some Barbecue 5:08
03. West End Blues 3:10
04. Someday You'll Be Sorry 3:54
05. When It's Sleepy Time Down South 4:34
06. Jeepers Creepers 4:50
07. You Must Not Be Hearin' Straight 4:42
08. The Preacher 4:26
09. Ain't Misbehavin' 4:11
10. Baby Won't You Please Come Home 5:45
11. What a Wonderful World 4:54
12. Beale Street Blues 5:08
13. Louie's Lamentation 2:39
14. Armstrong Parade 4:12

Leroy Jones Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Vocals, Liner Notes
Craig Klein Trombone
Harry Connick, Jr. Piano, Arranger, Orchestration
Richard Rhypps Piano
Thadeus Richard Piano
Glenn Patscha Piano
Kerry Lewis Bass
Reginald Veal Bass
Shannon Powell Drums

Recorded at The Boiler Room, New Orleans, Louisiana on November 29 & 30 and December 27 & 28, 1996

Props For Pops

Leroy Jones is a fine New Orleans trumpeter based in trad jazz but open to the influence of bop. His clipped phrases give him a distinctive sound, and his vocals are spirited. On this CD, he pays homage to Louis Armstrong by playing several songs associated with "Satch," along with a few of his own original tributes. Teamed up with trombonist Craig Klein and a couple of rhythm sections (including pianist Harry Connick Jr. on two tracks), Jones is in fine form on such numbers as "Struttin' With Some Barbecue," "Jeepers Creepers," and "Ain't Misbehavin'," sometimes re-creating Armstrong's solos and vocals note-for-note, and at other times putting in some of his own ideas. A good-humored and successful tribute.
~ Scott Yanow, All Music Guide

1 comentário: