12 setembro 2011

J. J. Johnson - Blue Trombone (1957)

J.J. Johnson - Blue Trombone (1957) {2009 AJC Remaster}
EAC rip (secure mode) | FLAC+CUE+LOG -> 384 Mb | MP3 @320 -> 164 Mb
Full Artwork @ 300 dpi (jpg) -> 18 Mb
© 2009 American Jazz Classics / Columbia | 99002

J.J. Johnson (trombone); Tommy Flanagan (piano); Max Roach (drums); Paul Chambers (bass)

01. Hello Young Lovers
02. Kev
03. What's New
04. Blue Trombone (Parts 1 & 2)
05. Gone With The Wind
06. 100 Proof
07. Our Love Is Here To Stay (bonus track)
08. Portrait Of Jenny (bonus track)
09. Pennies From Heaven (bonus track)
10. Viscosity (bonus track)
11. You're Mine, You (bonus track)
12. Daylie Double (bonus track)
13. Groovin' (bonus track)

Digitally remastered and expanded edition of this 1957 release from the Jazz trombonist, Johnson's second complete album ever in a quartet format. The sessions, with master accompaniment by Tommy Flanagan, Paul Chambers and Max Roach, went so well that material for two albums was gathered (the other album being First Class). As an added bonus, there are two quartet tracks taken from Johnson's previous quintet sessions, as well as five quintet tracks that complete all of the master takes from the latter of those sessions.

When you hear this remarkable quartet - led, but not overshadowed by, J.J.Johnson - it's clear that this is one of the absolute classic bop sessions. What a tragedy that it is not accorded the same level of attention that many of their peers (on sax, trumpet, piano, ...) receive. I can't remember the last time I heard a jazz station feature a trombonist. Some of the bonus tracks are included on other CD releases, and JJ had recorded a number of these tunes with other groups, but the interplay among JJ, Tommy, Paul, and Max make this recording a must-have.

Thanks to ruskaval

2 comentários:

  1. http://www.filesonic.com/folder/10698101

  2. Thanks a lot, very nice quartet indeed.