15 novembro 2010

The Jones Brothers - Keepin' Up With The Joneses 1958

Thad Jones (trumpet, flugelhorn)
Hank Jones (organ, piano)
Eddie Jones (bass)
Elvin Jones (drums)

1. Nice And Nasty
2. Keepin' Up With The Joneses
3. Three And One
4. Sput 'N' Jeff
5. It Had To Be You
6. On The Alamo
7. There Is No Greater Love

New York: March 24, 1958

In spite of their very long careers in jazz, brothers Hank, Thad and Elvin Jones made relatively few recordings together; this Leonard Feather-produced date got the three of them into the studio and added to the gimmick by including Eddie Jones (no relation) on bass, and performing exclusively works by Thad or Isham Jones (also no relation). The music that's stood the test of time includes Thad's often-recorded "Three and One," which was evidently written for this session, and Isham Jones' best-known works "It Had to Be You," and the perennial favorite "There Is No Greater Love." Thad's rich flugelhorn is as strong as on any date he ever recorded, while Hank's playing is a little more reserved than usual, and Elvin, known for his fierce attack, sticks mainly to brushes. The only song which fails to come off is the mediocre title track, where Hank switches off between piano and organ. Like many other long out-of-print LPs that have reappeared as Verve CD's, this 1999 reissue is, unfortunately, in the Verve Elite limited-edition series, so don't wait long to acquire it. ~ Ken Dryden

Thanks to Rab Hines - Call It Anything

3 comentários:

  1. D/L


  2. great disco...thank you

  3. MP3@320KBPS

    thks to jazzrazz