03 julho 2011

Joe Newman - I Feel Like a Newman (1956)

Joe Newman : I Feel Like a Newman [2009]
Label: 1201 MUSIC
Label: Storyville 905 10" LP 1956


[41min 49sec]

01. This Time the Dream's on Me
02. Imagination
03. Midgets
04. Sweetie Cake
05. East of the Sun
06. Diffugalty
07. I Feel Like a Newman
08. King Size
09. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You
10. My Blue Heaven

Recorded in New York City in April, 1956.

Joe Newman (trumpet)
Billy Byers (trombone), Gene Quill (alto saxophone), Frank Foster (tenor saxophone), John Lewis (piano),
Freddie Green (guitar), Milt Hinton (bass), Osie Johnson (drums)
and with
Frank Wess (tenor saxophone, flute), Sir Charles Thompson (piano), Eddie Jones (bass), Shadow Wilson (drums).

Flac (tracks+cue+log) : lossless : 237.79 mb
~ Scott Yanow
Trumpeter Joe Newman, some Basie men, and a few other sympathetic sidemen play an enjoyable set of 1950s swing on this CD reissue. Six of the ten numbers team Newman with trombonist Billy Byers, altoist Gene Quill, tenorman Frank Foster, pianist John Lewis (a perfect fill-in for Count Basie), guitarist Freddie Green, bassist Milt Hinton and drummer Osie Johnson, while the other selections have Newman playing in a quintet with Frank Wess (who doubles on tenor and flute) and pianist Sir Charles Thompson. Whether it be a veteran standard or a newer song by Ernie Wilkins or Manny Albam, the music always swings and the talented musicians are in fine form.

3 comentários:

  1. http://letitbit.net/download/77866.7623ba7caa7f1ca2b859ac5e1e07/Joe_Newman_2009.rar.html


  2. Thanks for this wonderful Joe Newman disk. He excels in the company of some fine players.