19 setembro 2010

Howard McGhee and Introducing the Kenny Drew Trio 1950/53

1 Meiciendo (McGhee) 2:34
2 Lo-Flame (Drew) 2:47
3 Fluid Drive (Drew) 2:50
4 I'll Remember April (DePaul, Johnston, Raye) 2:51
5 Fuguetta (Drew) 3:07
6 Donnellon Square (Drew) 2:47
7 Lo-Flame [alternate take] (Drew) 2:50
8 Yesterdays (Harbach, Kern) 5:18
9 Stella by Starlight (Washington, Young) 2:26
10 Gloria (Drew) 3:21
11 Be My Love (Brodszky, Cahn) 2:42
12 Lover, Come Back to Me (Hammerstein, Romberg) 3:30
13 Everything Happens to Me (Adair, Dennis) 4:40
14 It Might as Well Be Spring (Hammerstein, Rodgers) 2:47
15 Drew's Blues (Drew) 2:24
16 Yesterdays [alternate take] (Harbach, Kern) 4:21
17 Everything Happens to Me [alternate take] (Adair, Dennis) 3:29

Howard McGhee - tp
J.J. Johnson - tb
Brew Moore - ts
Kenny Drew - p
Curly Russell - b
Max Roach - dr

Recorded by Doug Hawkins at WOR Studios, New York City on Januart 23, 1950.

Kenny Drew - p
Curly Russell - b
Art Blakey - dr

Recorded by RUDY VAN GELDER at the Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey on April 16, 1953.

This 1998 CD has all of the music from two formerly scarce 10" LPs.
Trumpeter Howard McGhee heads an all-star group that includes trombonist J.J. Johnson, tenor-saxophonist Brew Moore, pianist Kenny Drew, bassist Curly Russell and drummer Max Roach on "I'll Remember April," an original by the leader and four songs (plus an alternate take) by Drew who was making his recording debut. Because it was the tail-end of the 78 era, all of the performances are between 2:34 and 3:07 in length but the concise solos are generally quite strong. Although McGhee gets the top billing on this CD, the second half of this disc is actually by the Kenny Drew Trio (with Russell and drummer Art Blakey) from three years later, Drew's debut as a leader. Other than his "Gloria" and the basic "Drew's Blues," all of the music (which is augmented by two alternate takes) is standards including "Be My Love," "Yesterdays" and a surprisingly heated rendition of "It Might As Well Be Spring."
Easily recommended to bebop collectors

flac, with all covers

part 1 .:. part 2

1 comentário:

  1. http://rapidshare.com/files/166620566/Howard_McGhee_Vol_1.7z