26 abril 2010

Elmo Hope - All Star Sessions - 1956-1961

Elmo Hope - All-Star Sessions (1956-1961)
Mp3@320 | 170,7 Mb | Milestone Records | Total Time: 77:21
Recorded on May 7, 1956 and June, 22 & 29, 1961

This single-CD reissues all of the music (except for a second take of "Moe, Jr.") formerly on a two-LP set having the same name and catalog number. Before that, the music originally came out on the Prestige album Informal Jazz and the Riverside release Homecoming. The often-overlooked pianist/composer Elmo Hope is heard in three different settings. He first heads a four-song jam session (two swinging originals and a couple of standards) that has lengthy solos from trumpeter Donald Byrd and the contrasting tenors John Coltrane and Hank Mobley, along with fine support from bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Philly Jones. The 1961 dates consist of a sextet outing with trumpeter Blue Mitchell and the tenors of Jimmy Heath and Frank Foster, plus four numbers played with the trio from the album (which has bassist Percy Heath and drummer Philly Joe Jones). Other than a version of "Imagination," all of the selections from 1961 are Hope's intriguing and ultimately logical originals. Excellent music from an underrated great.
All Music Guide

Elmo Hope (piano)
John Coltrane, Frank Foster, Jimmy Heath, Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone)
Donald Byrd, Blue Mitchell (trumpet)
Percy Heath, Paul Chambers (acoustic bass)
Philly Joe Jones (drums)

Track Listing:
1. Weeja
2. Polka Dots And Moonbeams
3. On It
4. Avalon
5. A Kiss For My Love
6. Eyes So Beautiful As Yours
7. Moe, Jr. - (Teke 2 - previously unreleased)
8. One Mo' Blues
9. La Berthe
10. Homecoming
11. Imagination

Tracks 1 – 4, recorded on May 7, 1956
Tracks 5 – 11, recorded on June 22 and 29, 1961

MP3, @320
Part 1 .:. Part 2

2 comentários:

  1. DL